© 2019 Courtney Williamson Milford. All Rights Reserved. Site Design: CB Creative, Inc.


This website uses cookies to enable certain functions. By visiting this website, you consent to the use of cookies.  PRIVACY POLICY


Goodreadds Logo Courtney Williamson Milford
Amazon Author Central Courtney Williamson Milford
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle

The Books

Grace Family Chronicles Adult Historical Fiction Series

The Grace Family Chronicles is an adult historical fiction books series based in Miami during WWII (the history is real, but the characters have super powers called “Graces”). The series has the feel of an old-fashioned radio soap opera crossed with a comic book and a war drama. The cast is large, and their lives intermingle, sometimes in surprising ways. Graced 1943 is a book for anyone who enjoys actions tinged with humor in a setting that features real history, and larger than life characters.

Graced 1943 Courtney Williamson Milford
Book One

Set against a backdrop of World War II, the Grace family and friends live in, and operate out of, Gracestone, a Miami Beach luxury estate. Most of them are "Graced," meaning they have special powers: Navigators can get anywhere without a map, and are never lost; Incapacitators are never bested in a fight, and can turn any item into a weapon; Knowers can learn all there is to Know about any topic, just by concentrating on it for a few moments. There is no finite number of Graces, and a person can be Graced in more than one way,

In Graced 1943, the first book in The Grace Family Chronicles, the characters are focused on protecting the children of Gracestone. Kidnapping is always an issue, mainly because its patriarch, Henri Grace, is a Midasian Multiplyer, meaning her can Multiply wealth, and he has passed this rare Grace onto one of his grandsons. Greedy people, and even the U. S. government, target Midasian Multiplyers, hoping to exploit their ability to make money. 

The Atherlings Courtney Williamson Milford
Book Two

The action continues at Gracestone following the tumultuous ending of Graced 1943. Two Grace family members are in the hospital, and Amandia, the Grace family matriarch, reveals that she indirectly caused the catastrophe that sent them there. 

There is a trip to Europe, which goes swimmingly, until the characters are forced to swim, literally. The ending is a cliffhanger that leads into the third book, The Train of Thought.

Anyone who has not read the first book in The Grace Family Chronicles will be able to pick up the story threads; thus, while it is a good idea to read the books in order, it is also fine to read The Atherlings 1944 without having read Graced 1943.

The Atherlings Courtney Williamson Milford
Book Three

Annelisa Grace-Betterman writes detective novels to entertain the troops during WWII, but learns that she is destined to write books that change the world when she is whisked from her family’s Miami luxury estate, Gracestone, to the future by the Conductor of the Train of Thought, a time-traveling boxcar.


Her family members and friends at Gracestone are stunned, but there are other matters to attend to. Her mother, Amandia, is in St. Augustine, trying to break away from the Atherlnigs, a race of people with no consciences. With Annelisa and Amandia gone, her sister, Eleanor, runs the household, with more skill than anyone imagined she possessed. Her husband, Jean-Fils, still suffering from his brain injury, finds himself fighting in France, while her lover, Cy, fetches Jean-Fils illegitimate daughter from Dublin.


Meanwhile, Annelisa’s husband, Humboldt, vows to take revenge on those responsible for his pregnant wife’s disappearance. He’s stuck in Los Alamos, working on the Manhattan Project, and his reputation has been dinged by Initra, his friend Oleg’s spy wife. As the intent behind the project becomes clearer to him, he finds himself thinking about his Japanese relatives on his mother’s side.


Carlissa’s crush, Nathan, enlists, and finds trouble and wildly unexpected news in Hawaii. She diverts herself with Edgie, the president of the drama club. The other Gracestone teen, Niko, stands by crazy Sofia.


Romnel thinks he has Sambria finally ready to go to the alter, and they receive a visit from Tlila, Annelisa’s intersex aunt from Atherling headquarters in Charlestown, Nevis. As the reason for her visit becomes plainer, they all realize just how important it is for Amandia to succeed in unBecoming (becoming a “normal” human being).


No one remains untouched by the war, or adventure in the third installment of The Grace Family Chronicles, The Train of Thought.